What are the 5 major geographical regions of Argentina?

What are the major geographical features of Argentina?

Argentina can roughly be divided into four main geographical areas: the spectacular Andes mountain range, the dry North along with the more verdant Mesopotamia, the lush plains of the Pampas and the windswept wastes of Patagonia.

What are the 7 regions of Argentina?

Regions of Argentina

  • Buenos Aires.
  • Buenos Aires Province.
  • Córdoba and the Central Sierras.
  • The Litoral and the Gran Chaco.
  • The Northwest.
  • Mendoza and El Cuyo.
  • The Lake District.
  • Patagonia.

How is Argentina divided into regions?

The country is divided into four regions: The Andes, the North, the Pampas, and Patagonia. The Pampas is the agricultural heartland. Avendia 9 de Julio in Buenos Aires was named after Argentina’s Independence Day.

What are 5 facts about Argentina?

21 Amazing Facts About Argentina

  • Argentina produced the world’s first animated feature film in 1917. …
  • Yerba Mate is the most popular drink in Argentina. …
  • Argentina is home to both the highest and lowest points of the Southern Hemisphere. …
  • The capital of Argentina Buenos Aires translates to the ‘good airs’ or ‘fair winds’

What is the terrain of Argentina?

Argentina Geography

Geographic Location South America
Coastline 3,100 Miles 4,989 Kilometers
Geographic Coordinates 34 00 S, 64 00 W
Terrain rich plains of the Pampas in northern half, flat to rolling plateau of Patagonia in south, rugged Andes along western border
Highest Point 6,960 Meters
IT IS SURPRISING:  You asked: Is the Panama Canal in Central or South America?

What type of terrain covers most of central Argentina?

The Pampas, also called the Pampa, Spanish La Pampa, vast plains extending westward across central Argentina from the Atlantic coast to the Andean foothills, bounded by the Gran Chaco (north) and Patagonia (south).

What are the regions of Buenos Aires?

It borders the provinces of Entre Ríos to the northeast, Santa Fe to the north, Córdoba to the northwest, La Pampa to the west, Río Negro to the south and west and the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires to the northeast.

Buenos Aires Province.

Buenos Aires Provincia de Buenos Aires
HDI (2018) 0.820 Very High (17th)
Website www.gba.gob.ar