What is the longest day of the year in Quito Ecuador?

How long is the longest day in Quito Ecuador?

There, the sun is just barely above the horizon all day and the day length is 24 hours. Meanwhile, in Quito, Ecuador, almost exactly on the equator, the sun rises at 6:18 a.m. and sets at 6:24 p.m., and the day length, like every other day of the year, is 12 hours and 6 minutes.

How many hours of daylight does Quito get?

Sunrise and sunset in the most important cities of Ecuador

City Sunrise Hours of daylight
Tulcán 05:55 am 12:08 h
Ibarra 05:56 am 12:09 h
Tutamandahostel 05:57 am 12:09 h
Quito 05:57 am 12:09 h

Is Ecuador close to the sun?

The most common answer is “the summit of Chimborazo volcano in Ecuador”. This volcano is the point on Earth’s surface that is furthest from the center of Earth, and that is then equated to being the closest to the Sun.

What country has 12 hours of daylight?

Norway is known as the land of midnight sun. Due to Norway’s high altitude, there are seasonal variations in daylight because of the period of refracted sunlight is long.

What day has exactly 12 hours of daylight?

September Equinox (Approximately September 22-23)

IT IS SURPRISING:  What is the meaning of Peruvian current?

There are 12 hours of daylight and 12 hours of darkness at all points on the earth’s surface on the two equinoxes. Sunrise is at 6 a.m. and sunset is at 6 p.m. local (solar) time for most points on the earth’s surface.

Where is longest daylight?

Facts About the Midnight Sun in Iceland

Iceland’s daylight hours on the longest days of the year are 24 hours per day (May-July).

Where are the longest days?

At about 21st June the sun is directly over the Tropic of Cancer providing the northern hemisphere with its longest day. In December the southern hemisphere enjoys its summer solstice when the sun is directly above the Tropic of Capricorn.

Is Ecuador a Spanish country?

Ecuador was part of the Inca Empire until the Spanish arrived and claimed the country as a Spanish colony. For three hundred years the Spanish controlled Ecuador. In 1822, Ecuador became independent of Spain.